skip navigation

13 PDL Alums Included in USMNT January Camp Roster

By COLTON CORESCHI -, 01/08/18, 1:30PM EST


Six alums enter camp seeking to earn first cap for senior team

Photo courtesy of Minnesota United FC/MLS

The U.S. Men’s National Team roster for the 2018 January Camp was announced by U.S. Soccer on Monday, with 13 PDL alums included among the 30 call-ups.

The young, largely MLS-based roster brings a host of fresh faces seeking to earn their first cap, with 15 players new to the senior squad. Included in those 15 newcomers are six PDL alums, with Toronto FC goalkeeper Alex Bono, San Jose Earthquakes defender Nick Lima, Sporting Kansas City defender Ike Opara, Vancouver Whitecaps defender Tim Parker, Chicago Fire defender Matt Polster and Minnesota United forward Christian Ramirez among their ranks.

Two current PDL clubs boast multiple alums in the roster, with Reading United counting Bono and Philadephia Union forward C.J. Sapong as former players and the Ventura County Fusion claiming Chicago Fire defender Brandon Vincent and LA Galaxy Gyasi Zardes as alums.

The remaining PDL alums on the roster include Toronto FC defender Justin Morrow, Seattle Sounders midfielder Cristian Roldan, New England Revolution midfielder Kelyn Rowe and Sounders striker Jordan Morris.

Here’s a look at the full roster with PDL players bolded.

U.S. Men’s National Team January Camp Roster

GOALKEEPERS (4): Alex Bono (Toronto FC/Reading United), Bill Hamid (Midtjylland), Cody Cropper (New England Revolution), Zack Steffen (Columbus Crew SC)

DEFENDERS (9): Danny Acosta (Real Salt Lake), Justen Glad (Real Salt Lake), Nick Lima (San Jose Earthquakes/Burlingame Dragons), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/Chicago Fire Premier), Ike Opara (Sporting Kansas City/Cary Clarets), Tim Parker (Vancouver Whitecaps FC/Long Island Rough Riders), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire/Victoria Highlanders), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire/Ventura County Fusion), Walker Zimmerman (Los Angeles Football Club)

MIDFIELDERS (11): Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls), Paul Arriola (D.C. United), Russell Canouse (D.C. United), Marky Delgado (Toronto FC), Marlon Hairston (Colorado Rapids; 0/0), Ian Harkes (D.C. United; 0/0), Brooks Lennon (Real Salt Lake; 0/0), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC/Washington Crossfire), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution/Washington Crossfire), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC; 2/0), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy/Ventura County Fusion)

FORWARDS (6): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution; 27/3), Dom Dwyer (Orlando City SC; 4/2), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC/Sounders FC U23), Christian Ramirez (Minnesota United FC/Orange County Blue Star), Rubio Rubin (Unattached; 4/0), CJ Sapong (Philadelphia Union/Reading United)

Follow USL League Two

Most Read News

A lot of shakeup as teams organize themselves in the new year!

Latest News

A one-goal performance could hardly mean more.