skip navigation

Sarkaria, Russo Among PDL Players to Earn Canada West Honors

By PDL Staff, 11/04/16, 4:30PM EDT


Nine PDL players named 2016 Canada West Men's Soccer First and Second Team All-Stars

Photo courtesy of Alberta Athletics

Nine* players who took part in the 2016 PDL regular season, including Calgary Foothills FC talents Dominic Russo and Ajeej Sarkaria, earned Canada West Universities Athletic Association honors on Wednesday.

Sarkaria, who broke Canada West’s single-season goal record this college campaign with 19 for Alberta, was named the 2016 Player of the Year. In total, seven members of the 2016 Foothills FC side were named All-Stars.

"Ajeej has had a phenomenal year leading the Golden Bears attack. The team has been the major benefactor of Ajeej's outstanding season, and his goals have helped propel our team to a first place finish in Canada West with a 14-1-2 record," Bears Head Coach Len Vickery said of Sarkaria. "As most coaches would attest a goal-scorer in form is an absolute tonic for any team's attacking play, and Ajeej has had that kind of impact this season."

Gordon Hall, who played 11 games for FC Tucson during the 2016 PDL regular season, and Victoria Highlanders standout Chris Rushworth earned 2016 Canada West Men’s Soccer Second Team All-Stars honors. Rushworth scored five goals in 13 games for Highlanders FC in 2016.

2016 Canada West Men's Soccer First Team All-Stars

GK – Mitch McCaw – UBCO – Calgary Foothills FC
DEF – Bryan Fong – UBC
DEF – Niko Saler – Alberta
DEF – Dominick Zator – Calgary – Calgary Foothills FC
DEF – Tammer Byrne – Fraser Valley
DEF – Tyler Mertens – UBC
OFF – Dominic Russo – Calgary – Calgary Foothills FC
OFF – Ajeej Sarkaria – Alberta – Calgary Foothills FC
OFF – Titouan Chopin – UBC
OFF – Elijah Adekugbe – Trinity Western – Calgary Foothills FC
OFF – Ryan Glanville – Thompson Rivers

2016 Canada West Men's Soccer Second Team All-Stars

GK – Connor James – Alberta
DEF – Bruno Zebie – Alberta
DEF – Tyrin Hutchings – Mount Royal – Calgary Foothills FC
DEF – Noah Cunningham – Alberta
DEF – Jacob Powell – Saskatchewan
DEF – Gordon Hall – UNBC – FC Tucson
OFF – Cody Cook – Mount Royal
OFF – Bori Falaye – Calgary
OFF – Daniel Davidson – Fraser Valley
OFF – Chris Rushworth – Lethbridge – Victoria Highlanders FC
OFF – Mitch Bauche – Saskatchewan – Calgary Foothills FC

*This post has been updated.

Follow USL League Two

Most Read News

Latest News